Last Saturday morning my dad and I made the trip to Philly, so I could participate in my first race of the season. I raced the 2/3/4 category at the Philly Phlyer. I was very focused on the task at hand. I can tell I'm going to do well when I'm quiet. I don't know why but sometimes everything just clicks, and it did for me on Sunday. I think it was because I knew that I had to do well. If I hadn't, I would've been very discouraged and I doubt I would've decided to race the rest of the season.
Anyways, the race was a 2 lap 6 mile circuit with a couple small climbs. My field was about 15 girls, I think, which is actually pretty good for a rainy day. I was very nervous about the climbing because it irritates my back. I was sitting on the start line thinking "I really don't want to do this", and before I knew it, we were off. Immediately, two team mates attacked and my racing instincts kicked in. I got right on their wheel, but they sat up as the field rejoined. A couple miles later, the one team mate attacked again and Katie L. followed. I knew that the other team mate in the field would block for her, and since I'm unsure of my form right now, I sat in and waited for someone else to make a move. Taylor attacked to chase down the break, and when she was caught I immediatly countered her and bridged the field up to Katie. The race was rather uneventful from that point forward. Katie made some attacks but they never really formed into anything. Coming up the hill for the last time, I was climbing in the front, I shifted back to third wheel for the final off-camber corner and the sprint. I waited for the girl in first to begin her sprint, and when I finally went I was surprised with the lack of power I had. It was like I stood up to go and nothing happened. Needless to say, I dropped back a few places and ended up with a 5th place finish.
I am very happy with that result. I was expecting to get dropped and have a horrible ride, but I didn't. I climbed much better than I expected, in the top few without much trouble, and I still knew how to race well. My back did begin to bother me part way through, but I was able to push it to the back of my mind. I even finished in the prizes, so that was nice =)
Coming up this weekend is the Philly 2-day. The first day is a circuit race in Fairmount Park followed by a crit on Lemon Hill the next day. There are already 27 girls signed up for the womens open, so it promises to be a good race.
On another good note, I may be done with rehab soon. Jay at rehab said that I seem to be doing well, and there's not alot more they can do. It's more of a waiting it out thing at this point. So, even though they aren't saying I'm cured, it's still a relief to hear I've been making progress.
Thursday, April 2, 2009
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)