It's March, and it was 70 degrees today! How crazy is that? Monday I was all bundled up with a hat, gloves, and a coat, and today I got to go riding in shorts and a jersey! It felt so great. When the weather is this good, you can't help but be more motivated.
I had an off day on Friday, but there was no way I was going to stay inside! My friend, Ed, met me at my house and we went out for a pretty decent 2 hour ride. He's such a good riding partner, right now especially, because he's always keeping an eye on how I'm doing when we ride. He made sure we didn't push it too hard. Ed's going to Lehigh to be an engineer, and he let me look at one of his textbooks. I don't know why anyone would put themselves through that! It's all numbers and letters and words and crazy ideas, it made no sense! I'll take my business classes over that anyday! That evening, I went out shopping with my mom. You know your legs aren't as muscular as they were when you can find jeans that fit you in less than an hour...which is probably the only upside.
Today was ridiculously nice. The boys were all in Conneticut with Moonbeam at a training camp for the weekend, Dana's in California, and Toni has mono, so I wasn't sure who to ride with. Juan is sick so he didn't go, and I was hoping to ride with him, but we never seemed to be able to get in contact... I ended up calling my old coach and good friend, Bob Biese and went on a ride with him and his team. I time trialed over to K-town to meet up with the ride, and boy, was I in for a day. The longest/farthest I had ridden up until today was 25 miles in two hours. Today I did 53 miles in 3 hours. I also hadn't really done hills up until this point, but I did that today. I got my butt kicked. I should be in such good form right now, and I'm not. I'm getting constantly getting dropped up hills! I've never been a super climber, but I've never really been this bad before. It was a bit demoralizing, but it was still good to go out and get the miles in. The more I suck, the better I'll get, I guess. The weather made it worth it though, riding without 23487 layers is amazing. It's hard to watch other people get better when I'm not, but I must say, Bailey is looking very strong, as is Katie, but she always is!
I've decideded not to race at all this month and only a little next month. At the end of April, I'm going to decide what I'm going to make my goals for the season. Until then, I'm stil going to be very busy with my cycling, next week will be my biggest volume week since the accident, and I have the SAT next Saturday. Woohoo!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment